Kansas Wind Storm

 

A Tanka Poem

 

Angry heavy breaths

pushing cars, semi’s around

the highway, Mother

Nature showing us she’s still

stronger just by puffing air

 

Air bursts shoving me

to the left, steering wheel turned

right to hold the car

straight on the road, dust whirling,

swirling, flings debris at me

 

Eighteen-wheelers pass,

trailers rocking, cabs angled

fighting to stay up

fright’ning me to wrestle out

of the wind void they create

 

Will I make it home

Or will I be flung over

The road on my side

Like the semi I see with

its cab crushed; Lord, have mercy

 

Tam Raynor

Leave a Reply

