Beach Towel Bunny

I visited San Diego in July to see my family and long-time friends and early one morning I was enjoying the backyard view from my friend Patty’s house, when suddenly there was…

 

Movement

 

Plastic green patio chair with

vibrant beach towel drape-thrown over its back; stands out boldly

against a rock swimming pool

 

Movement

 

My eyes slowly float down

A brown bunny crouches calmly next to the chair’s back leg

towel flutters near her face

 

Movement

 

I race for my camera

returning excitedly, but the beach towel flaps alone in the breeze

Maybe I just imagined it?

 

No movement

 

Camera poised ready, I strain

all senses, totally intent to catch sight of the illusive rabbit

Disappointed; determined to catch her…

 

Tomorrow

 

Tam Raynor

Leave a Reply

