An Arrogant Injustice to Writers

A couple weeks ago, I read a comment by an established publisher, who basically said that anybody who self-publishes or who doesn’t go through an established publisher (one that’s survived through the past five to one-hundred years) is just a very sad, wannabe writer, not worth snoring over. That’s been a rankling, an uncomfortable niggling, at my subconscious; a chapping of my hide.

What arrogance, for a publisher to think that they are the only ones who know good writing! Where were the publishers with the writer of Peter Rabbit? She had to self-publish, and her books were basically gifts to friends and family members…like mine. Think about all the arrogant publishers who turned down the writer of Harry Potter and many other great authors, when they first started their careers.

I write in order to keep from bursting into flaming bubbles with all the thoughts and ideas that swirl and swell inside my mind. I read voraciously on the art of writing, and watch educational instruction on different ways to put sentences together. Since the sixth-grade, I have read all the different genres, and still do, including the Bible! I write to please me, or to make gifts for others, or to contribute to fun and education, and people actually enjoy my self-published snore-drivel. If Abraham Lincoln could study himself into presidency and famous speech-making, so can I; and arrogant, snobbish publishers, who think they are all that, can just go and pour glue up their left nostrils!

There, I feel so much better now. Thank you for your time.

TR

10 thoughts on “An Arrogant Injustice to Writers

  1. I do think most people underestimate their own greatness, or rather, their own capacity to be self taught, and to learn on one’s own their true interest. Writers, I believe, and I am truly biased, are definitely able to be self taught if they read prolifically. To be well written, one must be well-read.

    That being said, I understand, but do not agree why publishers believe self-published authors are less worthy writers. I understand only in that there does seem to be a lot of self-published writers that need guidance in terms of editing their work. No one can write a book unscathed by improper sentences, ect. Editors are worthy partners to a well-written book. If the author is an editor, they may still need the help of an outside editor. It is likened to that of two fellow doctors. One doctor falls ill and needs surgery—would he tackle the surgery himself? Much less take his own, singular diagnoses without proper clarification from another unbiased source?

    And, you point out some well deserved self-published authors that did not need the stamp of approval from publishers. I strongly agree that publishers do not make the writer; however, an editor can enhance the writer’s work, and perhaps a publisher can help be an expert on whether the work will have marketability. Of course, if just publishing one’s work is the importance and not the high market value, then self-publishing works. I suppose that is where the difference lies.

    I hope we all continue to do what we love to do—-we don’t need to quit our day jobs, but we especially do not ever need to quit our love of writing.

  2. I think that writing is not simply an activity, it is a niche. I know that when I write, it provides a therapeutic response and I will continue to write regardless of what a publisher has to say. This being said, I haven’t personally attempted to publish, yet I have read up and researched on self publishing. I think the opportunities are so much more widespread now, and publishers no longer hold the key to our success 🙂

    • Very true, Emma. I love the word “niche”. I actually don’t have a problem with publishers in general, you know. I guess that conceit, arrogance, and prejudice crop up in every field and at every life level; just, sometimes I have to vent when it pops up close to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

