Different Feathers

(I have a new parakeet,, a young one…)

Buzzard Brain gazed around, cocking his head at my

shirt and earrings. He hadn’t seen these colors before

on me, so I had to explain. “Buzzy, I’m a different

kind of parakeet from you. My feathers molt often,

coming back in different colors and textures, whereas

your feathers stay the same, even after you do molt they

come back the same colors in the same places. You are

like someone who has to wear a special work uniform.

We can still flock together, though, we just have variety.”

Leave a Reply

