Reading Passions

 

The heating unit rattled

a student in the other room tapped his desk

some students down the hall chatted

the heating unit ceased, and then somebody in my room sniffled

forcing me to glance up and seek the cause of the abnormal noise

a fellow teacher reading a book while holding a white nose tissue, crying

and I gently asked my fellow teacher if she cried or just suffered a sinus attack

(already knowing the answer)

and she, barely looking up from the book

nodded in assent to one or both of the questions

returning to a very emotional story

while I delicately returned to my computer

leaving her to drown happily in the sea of literarily initiated passions

 

TR

Leave a Reply

